2016 Award Winners

The Information Society Innovation Fund (ISIF Asia) Awards seek to acknowledge the important contributions innovators have made to their communities, by addressing social and development challenges using Internet technologies.  The Awards recognize initatives from organizations that have already been implemented, or are in the final stages of implementation, and have been successful in addressing their communities' needs.

Each winner receives a cash prize of AUD 3,000 to support their work and a travel grant of AUD 4000 for a project representative to participate at the 11th Internet Governance Forum (Guadalajara, Mexico - December 2016) to participate at the awards ceremony, showcase their project, make new professional contacts, and participate in discussions about the future of the Internet.

In addition, one of the two projects will receive the Community Choice Award for the project with more votes from community. The award will provide additional AUD 1000 for the winner. We encourage the community to cast their vote by 5 December 2016 (midnight UTC)

The winners for 2016 are:

Community Impact:
Restoring Connectivity: Movable and Deployable Resource ICT Unit (MDRU)

CVISNET Foundation
The Philippines

Technical Innovation: 
Towards A Fairer Electoral System: 1 Person, 1 Vote, 1 Value


During the 2016 call for nominations, the award winners were selected out of the 52 nominations received across two categories, covering 11 economies in the Asia Pacific. Nominations from Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore and Sri Lanka were assessed by the Selection Committee. India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were the economies that submitted more nominations, accounting for around 28% of the nominations received. The majority of the nominations received were submitted from the civil society with 34.6% followed by the private sector with 30.8%. The category that received more applications was Community Impact with 32 nominations equivalent to 61.5% while the Technical Innovation category received 20 nominations equivalent 38.5%. 15 applications were selected as Finalists and are publicly available for anyone interested to learn more about the ingenuity and practical approaches that originate from our region. We encourage you to learn more about their wonderful work!

The Selection Committe was composed by Phet Sayo (IDRC), Jessica Schen (APNIC EC), Rajnesh Singh (Internet Society), Edmon Chung (Dot Asia Organization), George Michaelson (APNIC staff), and David Rowe (ROWETEL, former ISIF Asia grant recipient). We thank them for their service. 

About awards

Follow our updates

Facebook Google Plus

ISIF Twitter

 Visit the discover.isif.asia blog
 Subscribe to our Rss Feed